P r o j e c t s
P r o j e c t s
05.Nov 2021 | 8:00 pm
MIMESIS – Nothing is alien between us
Jazzfest Berlin
07.Nov 2021 | 5:00 pm
Tonlagen Festival
28.Nov 2021 | 8:00 pm
Konzerthaus Berlin
02.Dec 2021 | 8:00 pm
Der Mann der sich Beethoven nannte
Performances until January 6
15.Jan 2022 | 8:00 pm
Der Mann der sich Beethoven nannte
16.Jan 2022 | 8:00 pm
Der Mann der sich Beethoven nannte
06.Feb 2022 | 8:00 pm
Trickster Orchestra & Chor zur Welt

Vom Bleiben

Komische Oper Berlin & Trickster Orchestra

“They were always told that the quotas for refugees were already exhausted.”

Gabriel Adorjan

In this collaboration between Komische Oper Berlin and Trickster Orchestra, musicians of both ensembles join to reflect on the themes of fleeing and settling in a new place through music and spoken word.

The lineup features 16 musicians, whose very diverse family histories connect in one way or the other with the experience of forced migration, either through their grandparents, their parents, or through their own biographies. As musicians speak about the time after flight and arrival, settling in unknown places, and about their families’ expectations, hopes, and disillusionment, a composition premiers, whose instrumental lineup mirrors such displacement and migration in sound. The Japanese koto, the Arabic kanun, the European tuba all join the narration of their musician’s family histories.

In this music film performance, their sounds and melodies remind us of the globally shared realities of forced migration, seeking a new home, and inheriting such existential experiences as children and grandchildren.


Composition, Music Direction, Vocals Cymin Samawatie
Composition, Drumset Ketan Bhatti
Paetzold Recorders Susanne Fröhlich
Contrabass Flute Tilmann Dehnhard
Oboe Tjadina Wake-Walker
Bassoon María José García Zamora
Sheng Wu Wei
Bass Clarinet, Electronics Milian Vogel
Tuba Sebastian Wagemann
Koto Naoko Kikuchi
Kanun Bassem Alkhouri
Percussion, Mallets Gunter Sturm
Violin Gabriel Adorjan
Viola Anna Lysenko
Cello Thomas Helms
Double Bass Ralf Schwarz